Suggestion & opinion: Prior to starting construction

riturajmnit

Suggestion & opinion: Prior to starting construction

Post by riturajmnit »

Hi folks,

I am hoping to get my house construction started by end of this month.
As I am new to this, I am starting this thread to keep updates and to seek your opinion and suggestion:

Plot Size: 1680 (40*42)
Construction Area: 2400 sqft + 300 sqft Balcony + 380 sqft Parking
Budget: 42 Lakhs

Now coming over to process (Not yet finalized):
I have hired a team of Architect and COntractor:

Role of Architect:
1> All design (Pretty happy with what he has done with plan)
2> Structural Supervision (20 Visits)
3> Generation of BOQ (Estimate of items to be used)
4> Quality Control
5> Design suggestion and procurement help (Skylight, Staircase, PVC Window)

He is charging Rs.100/psft for his service:

Contractor:
1> Work will be on BOQ (Bill of quantity)
2> Timeline: 6 months

Baseline of Material:
1> Cement : 53 grade (Possibly Ultratech, not finalized) ... Please suggest
2> Sand: Trichy
3> Bricks: Red Brick (Block bricks for boundary and stairs)
4> Indoor stairs (Teak wood or Wood finish Tiles)
5> Skylight of 242 sqft
6> All windows PVC
7> Main door - Teak
8> Other Doors - Sal wood
9> Floor: Master BR and Gym in Wooden flooring and rest with Virtified Tiles (Rs 120 psft)
10> Bathroom: Wall tiles (60 Rs), Floor Tiles (60 Rs), Fittings (25000 per bathroom)

Now my doubts:

1> I am not really sure how BOQ works, has anyone gone for BOQ based work ?
2> Any suggestion on where cost cutting can be done without compromising on quality.

I will get BOQ tomorrow and over the week I have to decide, if i will go with them.

Regards
venkyn

Re: Suggestion & opinion: Prior to starting construction

Post by venkyn »

Hi RituRaj,

Since you have hired contractor and BOQ

- I am not sure if there is a clause which mentions any material greater then X amount due